Wisconsin PGA tournament: Rule 4-4 hands Zach Nash a DQ after winning the event
We don’t usually hear much about 14-year-old kids admitting to have cheated in a game, but Zach Nash stood as an exception at the Wisconsin PGA tournament. One of the basic rules of golf states that having more than 14 clubs in your kit would result into an immediate penalty, Nash had 15.
Zach Nash won the Wisconsin PGA tournament and after the win the 14-year-old discovered he had 15 clubs in his bag. It is told that after the discovery Nash immediately called Andy Landenerger, the Director of the WPGA and demanded a DQ for himself.
Nash said that his decision was rather instantaneous and having cheated in a game he loves so much, was unacceptable. He admitted that keeping the medal was no option for him, and it was better for his conscience to claim a DQ right away.
He has started his freshman’s year this Wednesday at the Waterford Union High School, and has plans to head for the Golf team. At the game, Nash led thirty one other players within the age- group of 13 to 14 years. He shot a 77 in the end, which led him to a victory at the Wisconsin PGA section.
According to Golf rule 4-4, having more than 14 clubs in your bag results in a full 4 stroke penalty for the player. But Nash had failed to notice this in the game due to which the penalty couldn’t be applied. The DQ he earned was hence over filling the card with incorrect information.
Chris Wood who is Nash’s coach is very proud of him, and says that most players in Nash’s situation wouldn’t have acted the way this kid did. He said that Nash’s decision to get a DQ was an enough proof of his sportsmanship and not many can fill his shoes.
After Nash won, he went to the Rivermoor Golf Club, where he was due to meet his mentor and coach Chris Wood, who is the head Professional of the club. Nash showed everyone his medal, and was having a soda when his coach inquired about the extra club in his bag. Nash replied that it was his friends’ and that’s when the coach pointed out the total number of clubs in his bag were 15.
Apart from being able to play a mature game, Nash has a very mature view about it as well. According to the 14-year-old, golf is a game of honesty and penalties. When Coach and Nash discovered 15 clubs in Nash’s club, the 14-year-old couldn’t help but cry a bit, and Wood had to call his father to pick him up.
Nash’s parents, however, were nothing but surprised at first by the 14-year-olds rash decision. They said that Nash is one heck of a teenager and there is nothing in his attitude which differentiates in him from other kids. They said that his son would talk back to his parents, when given the chance, and would equally pick on his little brother like every other kid around his age but his decision has made them proud. They approved of his decision, indicating it as the right thing.
According to his father Bob Nash, when his son made the decision, he told him it was the right thing to do but he also admitted that while his son was busy handing the glory back, he couldn’t get his son’s standing out of his mind.
Nash, after the call to WPGA director, sent the medal back, which will now be given to the runner-up Dane Reinhardt who finished his game with an 80. He tells his friend had left the golf stick at his house the day before the game, and he had mistakenly put the 5-wood club in his bag without realizing that it would increase the number to 15.
On Tuesday, Nash counted his clubs three times in another tournament. The earlier DQ from the WPGA certainly had a positive effect on the 14-year-old, which will eventually make a better golfer out of him. Nash explained that his earlier disqualification has made him more aware of golf rules in future especially the rule number 4-4.